Suck It Up Saturday/Sunday


Found on weheartit.com

Ok I know, I know that is a super lame title.  But I’m feeling pretty super lame and need to be feeling super motivated so sucking it up is the order of the day.  I’m one of those people who is amazingly good at writing goals, plans for how to reach these goals, budgets to support these plans.  Lists, Ideas, Step-by-step guides I am your woman!  But actually getting things done, well lets just say that’s not my forte’.

I, like many others, suffer from the great affliction known as procrastination.   My biggest mental excuse is that I feel like I can’t get something done if I don’t start from the right place.  Like people quitting smoking on the 1st day of January, I know that I’m being ridiculous and just putting off something I don’t feel like doing but I insist on my stupid rules anyway.  For instance I start every goal on a monday, I can’t study if my house is a mess, I can’t clean the house if the laundry isn’t finished first.  Stupid excuses that mean nothing but ensure I never get anything done.

Housework is my biggest failing, I’ve never gotten the hang of it, I tke the laundry off the line and leave it on a chair in my room for the next week using it as my wardrobe, I never do the dishes before bed, I mop the floors less often than I’d like to admit.  I live a bit of a bachelor lifestyle, which is not ok considering I’m a mum.  This is an area of myself I’m really committed to working on this year.  I have made a cleaning schedule which has what has to be done daily, weekly, monthly and each of the weekly tasks are assigned to a different day so really I should have no excuse.  Problem is, if the house isn’t super clean at the start of the week then I won’t do most of these daily tasks.

So accepting my failings and try to work with them rather than against them I’ve decided to be busy on the weekends getting everything up to scratch for the week ahead.  To be productive on a Monday I want to wake to a clean house, with all the laundry done and put away, ditto the dishes, all toys in their place and no clutter.  I want Flynn’s daycare lunch prepared, bag packed and an outfit picked out.  And importantly I want any backlog of uni work sorted out so I can spend Mondays concentrating on what is due and important.

To must do list before bed tomorrow night is:

– House totally cleaned and organised, all clutter gone.

– Obv prep for daycare.

– Complete a post for debate assessment.

– Update changes on Essay plan and atleast 400 words of Essay (note thanks to my fantastic skills of procrastination this essay is due midnight on Monday)

Leave a comment

Filed under Dreaded Housework, Me stuff

Leave a Reply

